Image Gallery


WAI Publications


NL Capa


WAI Strategic Plan 2016 2020 Accepted Final s1





IMG 2214 ENCreated on 28 May 1975, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional intergovernmental organization formed by the following fifteen (15) Member States: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. Its Headquarters is in Abuja, Nigeria and its official working languages are: English, French and Portuguese 

ECOWAS' mission is to promote regional cooperation and integration with a view to establishing an economic union to set up the pace of the social, economic and political development of the West African region. ECOWAS is considered one of the pillars on the achievement of the African Economic Community. ECOWAS is composed of institutions and specialized agencies including the Community Court of Justice, the ECOWAS Parliament, the West African Health Organization (WAHO) and the Intergovernmental Action Group against Money Laundering (GIABA). 

In order to ensure an effective implementation of its sectoral programmes, ECOWAS has undertaken structural and organizational reform and wishes to recruit qualified and capable, national candidates from ECOWAS Member States in the following areas: 

1. General Administration, Conferences, Finance; Human Resources Management, 2. Macroeconomic policies, Economic Research, Infrastructure,
3. Trade, Customs, Free Movement, Industry and Promotion of the Private Sector 4. Agriculture, Environment, Natural Resources, Health, Animal Health 

5. Political Affairs, Peace, Security, Social Affairs and Gender
6. Education, Science and Culture, Youth and Sport Development
7. Telecommunications and Information Technologies
8. Money Laundering and Terrorism Financing
9. International Relations, Diplomacy, Legal Affairs
10.Monitoring and evaluation, Strategic management, Strategic planning 11.Mining, Energy, Renewable Energy, Energy Efficiency
12.Internal audit 

Applicants are kindly requested to visit the ECOWAS website regularly, , where the positions will be published regularly. To do so, they will have to download the application form, complete it and send it as an attachment in addition to their CV to the related e-mail addresses. Potential candidates must be under 50 years of age. 

Female applications are encouraged. Only shortlisted candidates will be contacted. 

Download Document PDF


Copyright © 2012 WAI - West Africa Institute. All Rights Reserved - Designed and developed by: NOSi.